Championship Drag Racing

NHRA Route 66 Nationals
Chicago, Ill.
(May 20-23)

   Event schedule
   Star Tracks
   Audio Broadcast
   Photo Galleries
   Video highlights
   Entry List
   Driver Appearances

King Demon Crown

7th Annual
King Demon Crown
Anderson leads Pro Stockers in search of King Demon Crown title


JOLIET, Ill. -- Greg Anderson will lead the King Demon Crown field as the No. 1 seed for the lucrative special event May 22 during the Seventh annual NHRA Route 66 Nationals, May 20-23 at Route 66 Raceway near Chicago. The $1.8 million race is the eighth of 23 events in the $50 million NHRA POWERade Drag Racing Series.

A purse of $76,000 is available for the eight drivers competing in the King Demon Crown. The winner of the 20th annual King Demon Crown will earn $50,000. The runner-up will earn $10,000, the two semifinalists $3,000 each, and the four first-round finishers $2,500 apiece.

Anderson, from Charlotte, N.C., qualified No. 1 at 18 of the 23 NHRA POWERade Series events that drivers could earn King Demon Crown points. It is Anderson's second career appearance in the Demon Crown.

The $145,000 King Demon Crown showcases the eight best Pro Stock qualifiers during a 23 race span between the 2003 K&N Filters SuperNationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park in Englishtown, N.J., and 2004 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Southern Nationals at Atlanta Dragway. Besides the $76,000 available in the King Demon Crown, bonuses of $69,000 also are available to quick Pro Stock qualifiers throughout the King Demon Crown series.

Drivers accumulated points during qualifying at those events, and a $3,000 bonus was awarded to the No. 1 qualifier at each race.

This year's King Demon Crown field features four past winners, one rookie, two sophomores and a three-time participant. Warren and Kurt Johnson are three time winners, while Coughlin and Allen are two-time winners of the special event.

Kurt Johnson is the defending winner, as he defeated Anderson in the final round last year.

King Demon Crown rounds are scheduled for noon, 2:30 p.m. and 4 p.m. on May 22.

1.Greg Anderson, Jacksonville, N.C., Vegas General Construction Pontiac Grand Am3,955
2.Jeg Coughlin Jr., Columbus, Ohio, Jeg's Mail Order Chevy Cavalier3,295
3.Kurt Johnson, Lawrenceville, Ga., ACDelco Chevy Cavalier3,065
4.Warren Johnson, Buford, Ga., GM Performance Parts Pontiac Grand Am2,740
5.Bruce Allen, Arlington, Texas, Reher-Morrison Pontiac Grand Am2,170
6.Dave Connolly, Elyria, Ohio, Bullet Motorsports Chevy Cavalier2,130
7.Mike Edwards, Broken Arrow, Okla., Young Life Pontiac Grand Am2,130
8.Allen Johnson, Greeneville, Tenn., Mopar Parts Dodge Stratus R/T2,115

First round: (12:30 p.m.): Anderson vs. A. Johnson; Coughlin vs. Edwards; K. Johnson vs. Connolly; W. Johnson vs. Allen.
Semifinal (2:35 p.m.): Anderson-A. Johnson winner vs. W. Johnson-Allen winner; Coughlin-Edwards winner vs. K. Johnson-Connolly winner.
Final (4 p.m.)